Women, Puffy-ness, Ashley Judd and Our Job

Ashley Judd Slaps Media in the Face for Speculation Over Her ‘Puffy’ Appearance – The Daily Beast.

How true it is that now, it isn’t just the men who are objectifying women but this is done even more so by the women – the constant criticism, judgment, and speculation about the physical appearance of a woman.

I have been an upper elementary teacher the last 11 years and I have not come across girls being too aware of their bodies, yet.  Some might want pretty hair and a cute outfit but the ‘sexual’ aspect had not kicked in. But as I look forward to teaching 6th Grade next year, I can’t help but pay attention to articles like this.  I know that my influence will matter as well and I can’t ignore that these girls are either going to be facing body issues or are going to be embarking on it in the near future.  And the culture around them is going to eat them up if I’m not ready to address these issues.

Comment

