Visible Learning by John Hattie

Isn’t summer great?  Waking up every morning and being able to live out your own agenda.  Yay, summer!  🙂

I actually have a long list of books I want to conquer this summer.  I also have a long list of movies I want to watch and they’re in constant battle.  One of the books is “Visible Learning” by John Hattie.  I’d heard about this book a few years back when Tony Ryan came to my school.  I put a tab on that book but forgot about it until last year, Tony Ryan introduced this book again at our PD session and I just ordered one from Amazon.  I actually ordered “Visible Learning for Teachers” which is sort of a follow up book and had to order the original again.

I’m only a few pages in and already I am overloaded with a lot of information.  Actually, it’s more of a response overload – so much of what Hattie says in the book elicits a response (not necessarily a negative or a positive one).  Hopefully, I’ll be able to write some of my responses on my blog.

The above clip touches on what he talks about in the book (apparently….as I haven’t read the book yet) and it is truly an intriguing talk and I encourage you to take 15 minutes of your time and watch it.  I think it’ll also make you want to pick up this book.

Hope everyone’s enjoying their summer.  🙂

3 thoughts on “Visible Learning by John Hattie

  1. hard to keep track of you on all your various blogs! 😉 i’m just finishing up VL for teachers. Should I read the first one too? This was the only title they had at the HKPL and I wasn’t feeling like buying another book. will watch video after my last class today! what did you read this summer? I finally finished eisner’s book–arts and the creation of mind…which is excellent and highly recommended.

    • hey! 🙂 how did you like the VL for teachers. i actually own both copies. 😛 i didn’t get to read it though. had too many distractions. i ended up reading books on marriage this summer. haha 😀 hope you’re well, Salome~ am trying to come back to wordpress and hopefully, i’ll stay here for awhile.

      • It’s very informative and practical. Though I have 2 chapters to go, I watched the video you posted along w/ part 2 and it summed up quite well the main points… pretty much what I’d taken down as notes whilst reading ; ) I liked the follow through at the end of chapters of things to think about/do…also that 1/3 of the book was references and appendices that technically did not need to be read.

Comment

