Paper Blogs: A Lesson in Commenting on Student Blogs

What a unique idea. Must try this.

IMG_2135

IMG_2136

 

 

We have been hard at work on our paper blog as we prepare to unveil the actual blog experience this Friday.  One of the essential things I do (and tweak) every year is the using paper blogs to get my 5th graders to think about how to comment, and more specifically how to start a conversation with their comments.  While the idea is not mine, I borrowed it from McTeach, it has developed over the years into something I love doing and find essential as we prepare to blog and converse with the world.

The whole idea is very simple.

Creating the blogs:

  • Show students samples of previous years’ paper blogs to give them a visual of what to expect.  I accidentally kept one class set a year so I have a great variety of blogs that I lay out on tables so they can see and…

View original post 586 more words

Comment

