The End?

After nearly 14 years of teaching, I am leaving my career in elementary teaching.  Yesterday was my last day with my students.  I have to say, it did not feel as monumental as I thought it would be.  I left my classroom yesterday with the same feeling that I get at the end of every school year…a wipe off my forehead and a huge sigh of ‘Finally, it’s summer!’  May be it’ll sink in more at the beginning of next year.  Or may be I will not think about it that very much…I may even rejoice at the fact that I do not have to set my alarm at 5am in the morning.  I have taught in four different cities in three different countries.  I have taught in 7 different schools both private and public.  Despite the years of experience, I still leave with a feeling of…did I know what I was doing?

I remember in my first year of teaching, I had a weekly substitute teacher who was a retired principal.  He told me that he felt like he knew what he was doing after ten years of teaching.  I didn’t like hearing that.  But, that didn’t happen to me though.  I always felt like I could do better.  Is this the perfectionism in me or the teacher in me?

I am embarking on a new journey.  I may still be tutoring here and there and may be able to update this blog from a different angle regarding education.  But.  I do wanna say that I’m grateful to God for the last 14 years.  Teaching opened doors to so many other gifts for me.  I will remember some of the students forever.  I will carry in my heart the stories I collected.  I don’t know if my classroom will miss me.  But, I think I will miss it time to time.

It’s not the end.  But it is the end…for now.  🙂

Comment

